Interview with an Author: Mima

Today’s Interview with an Author is…Mima!
Mima
Pen name?
Mima
What got you into writing?
I started writing when I was around ten years old, simply because I loved to read. When I was sixteen, I wrote my first full-length (well, sort of…) manuscript and at that time, I was kind of bored with most of the young adult books I was reading and wanted to create my own.
What’s your favourite book and why?
I don’t know that I really have a favourite book however, A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is definitely a front runner. I was impressed by how Frey managed to dig into some really dark, intense emotions in this book and gave some very graphic descriptions of life as an addict. It encouraged me to dig a little deeper when I’m writing.
What’s your writing routine?
I don’t have a specific routine but I try to start my day off by checking my social media (especially Twitter) and my analytics. When I do start writing, I grab some tea, water and get ready to hunker down until I have finished a chapter/blog etc. Once I am on a train of thought, it is easier to continue with it rather than stop mid-chapter or mid-article.
The Spark Before The Fire
Tea or Coffee?
Coffee first thing and tea for the rest of the day.
What’s your favourite genre to write?
My first two books are general fiction but my latest one will be fantasy. In fact, most of the ideas I have for future books kind of fall more into a fantasy category.
You have a new book coming out, how long did it take you to write? 
I am not really sure because I had some life interruptions that took me away from it a few times. I usually write a chapter a day and there are 50 chapters, but I don’t write consistently every day. Editing is what really takes the most time for me.
The rockstar of vampires
Did you have any problems with the story?
Great question! I tend to follow my instincts when I write rather than outline in advance because I find it seems too forced. This time, I was down to the last few chapters and really wasn’t sure how I was going to finish things off. I just followed my heart and it all worked out!
Are your friends and family supportive of your writing career?
Yes! I’m very fortunate.
How do you manage your time? Is it hard balancing your writing life with your working life?
Currently, I am unemployed so I have to divide my time between writing and looking for a new job. When I am working, I tend to figure out a good time to write that works with my schedule. With my first two books, I kind of burned the candles at both ends and later regretted it, so now try to keep a little more balance.
Are you self-published or with an agent?
I am self-published. Originally, I wanted to go the traditional method, hand and hand with an agent but I finally decided that it was up to me to take control of my own career and just plunged ahead and self-published. I mean, why sit on the sidelines, waiting for the ‘glass slipper’ to be placed on your foot ? Life is too short!
FIRE
How do you keep motivated?
I am actually pretty self-motivated but there are a lot of days I would prefer to just crash out and read a book, rather than write one! In general, I find the best way to stay motivated is to just make up your mind to do something and jump in with both feet before you talk yourself out of it!
Thanks, Mima!
To check out Mima’s social media and book links, click below!
Website –  www.mimaonfire.com

Leave a comment