A Half-Way Through Book Review | Paper Towns by John Green

I was dubious to get involved in the fandom-surrounded world that is a John Green novel, but Paper Towns intrigued me from the get-go.

For the those of you that have been living under a rock, Paper Towns is about neighbors Margo and Q going on a midnight adventure around Orlando to avenge Margo against her friends. But the next day, Margo is nowhere to be found and she chose Q to spend her last night with. Margo becomes the mystery story she craves as her friends try to track her down. But it won’t be that easy.

*Confession* although I haven’t seen the film, I have seen the Paper Towns movie trailer, so of course Cara Delevingne’s face is Margo’s face. And Q is Nat Wolff (who first came to my dewy-eyed attention in ‘Stuck In Love’.)

Amazing casting choices, and I am more than happy to have their voices in my head whilst I read Paper Towns, but I do wish I had put my blinkers on and just read the book without and intervention from movie trailers!

I am in love with Q. There, I said it! He is a fantastic character: weak, confused and utterly in love with Margo Roth Spiegelman. He’s a real teenage guy: I’Ming all night, but sticking to his dream of going to Duke University.

When Margo runs face-first back into his life, he can’t help but let go of his fears and grab Margo’s dreams head on. Margo isn’t your typical female lead character, which seems to be a theme for John Green.
Margo is strange, lonely and rebellious. She’s popular and loved, but she doesn’t care about her preppy wannabe school friends, she wants to live dangerously and enjoy the risks. She sees Orlando as what it really is: a paper town. All fake and built to please, but not strong enough to hold her down.

paper towns by john green: a review by @melissaholden94

I’m not finished reading Paper Towns yet, but I am loving it so far! I almost don’t want to reach the end because I adore Q and Margo and don’t really want to close the book on them. But let’s see how it goes!

I still won’t go anywhere near The Fault In Our Stars for fear of being beaten to death by academics, but John Green has won me over.

Leave a Reply

