Miranda Shanklin | Interview With An Author

Author picAbout the Author

Miranda Shanklin resides in Central Illinois with her husband and their two children. When she is not working at her day job as a paralegal, running her children to practices or supporting them at events she is writing. She has been an avid reader most of her life and has always dreamed of writing her own books someday. Now that her children are reaching their teenage years she is finding the time to sit down and chase her dream.

Miranda loves to hear your opinions and uses the feedback to improve. You can find her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/mirandashanklinauthor or email her at mlshanklin@gmail.com.

– Let’s here from Miranda herself! –

What got you into writing?  I have always loved reading and dreamed of writing. One day I just decided to start writing.

What’s your favourite book and why? I don’t really have a favourite. I love all kinds of books.

What’s your writing routine? I sit down at the computer and start typing.

Tea, or Coffee? Coffee, lots and lots of coffee

What got you into your particular genre of writing? I love reading paranormal romance so it made sense for me to try writing it.

souldiscovery-shanklin-ebookWhy do you love writing it? I love to write what I would love to read.

As a first time author, how are you finding the publishing process? A little overwhelming.  I have had a lot of advice and tips from other authors as I try and find my way through it all.

How many books have you written and what are they? I have one full series out. The Soul Series consists of Soul Journey, Soul Redemption, Soul Knowledge, Soul Freedom and Soul Discovery.

As a series author, do you find it hard to keep the story fresh? It can be challenging. You have to find something new for each book but it still has to relate to what happened in the previous books.

What tips can you give aspiring authors about writing a series? Have an idea of how many books you want to include and a general idea where you want them to go. It will help to make it flow better.

Is there anything controversial or different about your writing? Not that I know of .

How do you manage your time? Is it hard balancing your writing life with your working life? My life is crazy busy. I am a mother first, then a wife, then a paralegal and then a writer. I have a very delicate balance that gets thrown off all the time LOL

soulfreedom-shanklin-ebookAre you self-published or with an agent? Was this an active choice? I am self-published. It was an active choice. I don’t have anything against agents or publishing companies I just wanted to show myself that I could do it on my own.

Do you have a writing space? Tell us what it’s like! Right now my laptop is set up on my dining room table. I hope to add a small office onto the house in the next couple of years but for now I am in the middle of the house.

How do you keep motivated? I have a whiteboard with my characters and other important facts about the story that is in the dining room. Every time I walk through the house I see it and it keeps it all alive for me. My kids and husband are also very supportive and do everything they can to help me.

soulknowledge-shanklin-ebookWhat did you struggle with the most when writing your new book? I had a little trouble at first getting it to come across on the page the same as it was in my head. It took me a little while to find my writing style.

Do you have any hints/tips for my readers about writing? If you can come up with a story that you would want to read then there is nothing stopping you from trying.

Is there anything you wish you had known BEFORE you started your latest book? A better way to market my books. I am still working on that LOL

You’ve got a new book out! What’s it about? My books are about a group of witches. There is a little twist to the witching world though. There are no new witches born. The souls of each witch go through life cycles and as they get older they remember their past lives. The main characters in the story are the exemption to most of the rules due to a punishment that they have been fighting against for many lifetimes. They break free from their punishment only to find that they have now created an even bigger problem.

soulredemption-shanklin-ebookHow did you decide on cover art? Did you consult with a designer or is it all you?

I asked a fellow author about cover art and what was the best option. I have zero ability in that field. I found the cover for my first book on Paper and Sage Designs in their pre-made section. I fell in love with it and bough it. I then worked with the cover artist to custom make the other covers so that they would all stay in one theme.

Any links or websites you would like my readers to visit? My author site is www.mirandashanklin.com; my facebook is http://www.facebook.com/mirandashanklinauthor

Leave a Reply

