Interview With An Author: Julie Nicholls

About Julie:

Julie Nicholls was born in Hull, East Yorkshire, England. Her love of writing didn’t fully develop until she moved to Bulgaria after retiring from work at the age of 42. Living in a small village in the South of Bulgaria with her husband and two dogs, Julie enjoys country-life and the freedom retirement brings.

profile pic for author site

She’s the owner of “Literally Sensual” on WordPress, along with other writing friends, but is more known for writing Fanfiction and receives regular reviews.
The release of her first novel, Demon Within, encouraged her to continue writing a sequel. And now Demon Within is the first in a series called “Fallen Angels”. The second book in the collection, “Angel Within”, will be released late March 2015.

What got you into writing?

I discovered Fanfiction via a popular forum, and after reading a few stories, I was hooked. Shortly after reading quite a few, I decided to give it a go at writing my own.

What’s your writing routine?

Once I get the story in my head, I have to get it out. I usually start writing after lunch for a couple of hours, take a break then continue after dinner until the early hours.  When I go to sleep, I ‘see’ the next day’s chapter, and I play it over in my mind so when I start the following morning, I know what the plan is.

Tea or Coffee?

TEA!! I’m English… You know how us Brits love our tea.

What got you into your particular genre of writing?

It’s my favourite genre. I’ve ‘dreamed’ all my life… I guess escapism is the correct term for it. I don’t want to write about real life, I live it every day. Fantasy, romance is where I’m perfect, and the hero is perfect and I get my ‘happily ever after.’

Why do you love writing it?

Fantasy romance has no limits. You can create your world, the characters and don’t have to stick to stereotypes. I don’t have to follow rules; I can change them to suit my story.

As a first time author, how are you finding the publishing process?

It was a bit shaky to begin with because I had no experience to draw on. However, after a few weeks of learning a few tricks of the trade, re promotion etc., I’m getting the hang of it now.

How many books have you written and what are they?

Demon Within, first book in the Fallen Angels series was the first, and the 2nd book in that series, Angel Within, is due out 19th March 2015. I have two short stories, which I have only as fillers, “Not for Sale.’ which is a modern day rescue story where the lead woman falls for her rescuer. Also ‘Her Alpha,’ a werewolf short story with steamy scenes.

Demon Within:

A former slave and now a feared warlord, a princess, a king, angels and fallen-angels, make this an epic romance you won’t be able to put down. Kai of Darkmide struggles with an uncontrollable force that changes his appearance when angered or enraged. Only the soothing touch of Princess Eloise is able to calm him, and unafraid of his demonic form, she shows him love. The princess keeps a secret of her own; A power, gifted to females on her mother’s side by the seraphim, giving her the advantage when Kai, and everyone he holds dear, are threatened with destruction from a fallen angel seeking revenge. A journey filled with plots, twists, secrets and passion, DEMON WITHIN is the first book in a series of three, Fallen Angels series.

Demon Within FB size

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00PV4K8P2

As a series author, do you find it hard to keep the story fresh?

I confess when I decided to make Demon Within into a series, I panicked and wondered how I was going to top it! However, the feedback I’m getting from the BETA readers is very good, and they’ve commented that it’s faster paced than the first book, so I’m jolly excited about its release.

What tips can you give aspiring authors about writing a series?

Research your topic, make sure you have plenty of friends who are willing to read your book before you publish it, to wheedle out any errors, and stay positive! Don’t let anyone tell you can’t do it.

Is there anything controversial or different about your writing?

That’s an interesting question! When I write, I ‘see’ the scene. So I tend to write all the details that I see which sometimes is a little overwhelming. I’m learning to cut back, but it’s difficult. I’ve always maintained that because of my limited education, my writing has been quoted at one time as ‘too wordy,’ however, I’m making progress.

How do you manage your time? Is it hard balancing your writing life with your working life?

Basically I get up, do my chores, take care of the animals…and the husband, and sit and write or paint. I also paint my own covers, or create them…and recently have been selling my work inexpensively to help indie writers, by keeping my covers low cost.

Are you self-published or with an agent? Was this an active choice?

I’m probably going to shoot myself in the foot for this, but I’m going to say it anyway. I made a few enquiries for a publisher and all the things they wanted; I felt was a little cheeky. They were only interested in authors who’d already made a name for themselves, by either achieving a best seller award or reaching a high position in the charts on the many eBook sites. I’ve also learned recently that a number of publishers are not actually doing anything for their cut of the sales.  There’s no advertising and only basic editing services plus low, cost covers that are questionable. I’ve had a few customers asking me to make book covers, because their own publisher isn’t providing a good enough service.

Do you have a writing space? Tell us what it’s like!

Um, nope. It’s on the sofa with a board across my lap.

How do you keep motivated?

I’m a very excitable person and I come over much younger in years than I am. I love to interact with people, and I find feedback from readers and friends is what drives me.

What did you struggle with the most when writing your new book?

I couldn’t stop reading it as I wrote, and by the time I’d finished, I wasn’t reading it anymore; I was skimming, and consequently missed a few errors.  So when I started the 2nd book, Angel Within, I only read from the previous chapter to bring myself up to speed. Once I’d finished it, I then read it from the beginning to start editing.

Do you have any hints for my readers about writing?

Make sure you have a story that will keep the readers interested. Some of the reviews for Demon Within mentioned the book wasn’t filled with unimportant details. Which I purposely avoided because I tend to drift off when I’m reading a book that digresses too much.

Is there anything you wish you had known BEFORE you started your latest book?

YES! I wished I’d known that giving your book away free for five days doesn’t make a difference to your sales position! I mistakenly followed a blog’s advice… I had Demon Within downloaded 1600 times and after the free give away finished, my position in the kindle store didn’t alter. I learned later that Amazon changed the system, so that books couldn’t gain a higher position because it was given away free. I did reach number 2 though, in the free section, and Demon Within is still selling, so I look on it as free advertising for the next book!

You’ve got a new book out! What’s it about?

Angel Within is the 2nd book in the Fallen Angel series and without giving too much away; it’s going to bring new characters, some good, some bad from the past. The main characters in Demon Within all have issues that they have to deal with, and this book is going to help resolve some of those.  The main antagonist is a witch, Jana, and she teams up with Tigan, a treacherous mercenary from Kiera and Sabe’s past, to summon a fallen angel, the most powerful. There are the usual plot twists, secrets and of course, hot steamy sex to keep everyone entertained and I’m confident that anyone who read Demon Within will thoroughly enjoy this next book, and will probably swear (curse) rather a lot at me when they finish it… and I’m not saying anything else. Lol

Angel Within:

Jana, a powerful witch, and Tigan, a deceitful mercenary from Sabe and Kiera’s past, join forces to summon Samyaza, one of the most powerful of all fallen angels.

The witch strikes a bargain with the fallen angel to possess Tigan, making him indestructible in battle. In exchange for granting this gift, Samyaza seeks a sacrifice, someone gifted with seraph abilities in order that he can free himself of the bonds that hold him captive in hell.

feb image redone smaller still

It’s a race to save the sacrificial offering, and to stop Tigan from becoming possessed. Kai and Sabe join Brightstone and Blackhill’s forces to rid the world of the powerful, evil witch and Tigan. Once again the seraph come to the warriors aid, yet at what cost? The final battle culminates with transformation of Eloise from a timid queen to a feared warrior, as her husband fights for his life, and freedom from bondage, once more.

How did you decide on cover art? Did you consult with a designer or is it all you?

I make my own covers and I paint them in Photoshop using a Wacom Bamboo tablet and pen. I love digital painting and manipulations, I’ve been doing images for a long time, and making my own covers was one of the things I was more excited about than anything else!

Any links or websites you would like my readers to visit?

Purchase Demon Within here

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00PV4K8P2

Peeps can connect with me on my author site on Facebook.

http://www.facebook.com/jnichollsauthor

This is my short erotic story site and blog on WordPress

http://www.literallysensual.wordpress.com

I post all my paintings on this WordPress site

http://www.juliemirishkanicholls.wordpress.com

Twitter:  @juliemirishka

EXTRAS!

ANGEL WITHIN is available on Amazon for pre order at Half price.

Angel Within: (A story of Angels & Fallen-Angels) (Fallen Angels Series Book 2) – Kindle edition by Julie Nicholls. Romance Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com.

Angel Within: (A story of Angels & Fallen-Angels) (Fallen Angels Series Book 2) – Kindle edition by …

Angel Within: (A story of Angels & Fallen-Angels) (Fallen Angels Series Book 2) – Kindle edition by Julie Nicholls. Romance Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com.

IF you visit Julie’s author Facebook page, there is a chance to win Amazon vouchers…

Julie Nicholls – Timeline Photos | Facebook

Julie Nicholls – Timeline Photos | Facebook

#promotionalproducts #voucher #amazon #RT #promotion Chance to win one of two Amazon $10 gift vouchers!! PRE-ORDER FOR HALF NORMAL PRICE …

2 thoughts on “Interview With An Author: Julie Nicholls

Leave a Reply

