1 Year On: Becoming An Author

I can’t believe that it’s been a year since I published The Snow Killer. It both feels like a lifetime, and about five minutes. So much has changed over the last 12 months that I’m not sure where to start.

Melissa Holden Searching For Katherine Selfie

Personal…

In January 2014, I lost a very important person to cancer. Since then I have been living life to the full and taking every chance I can. (I miss you, Norman.)

2014-01-08 08.41.22

I’ve started and ended romantic [and friendly] relationships this year, as well as meeting some incredible new people both in and out of my writing career. I’m spending more time with the people that matter to me – because life is too short to hold a grudge.

I changed my hair – a lot and I lost and gained weight, I’ll never be perfect but I don’t care.

joined

I’ve been working my part time job for over a year, whilst balancing everything else.

I became an auntie (again!)

I moved house at university and me and one of my closest friends had to say goodbye when she moved up north to go to university.

Melissa Holden and Lara Rye

Career…

In twelve months I have written (and contributed to) eight books – most of which are available on Amazon Kindle. [After Us out November 30th]

join cover new

I started a YouTube channel.

I became an editor for CCCU Her Campus – and it’s still going strong.

HER CAMPUS CCCU

I now write for Dartford Matters and Dartford Living.

I regularly blog on seven pages (four of which are WordPress!)

I hit 1000 Twitter followers, 300 blog followers, and 200 Facebook likes.

I got involved in #IndieBooksBeSeen and helped it launch.

I got my latest book, Searching For Katherine, into the CCCU Bookshop.

Searching For Katherine in the CCCU bookshop

University…

Since November 2013, I have passed my 2nd year of university and am well into my 3rd year – and now it is less than a year until graduation! Classes are going well so far and I am hoping to pass with a high 2:1.

Plans for the future…

I have recently started helping young writers become self-published authors and I plan to keep doing so. I love helping unknown writers and I will eventually set up a company to help them.

I am also looking into doing a Masters degree, becoming a lecturer and eventually getting a PhD. *fingers crossed*

I have lots more books planned, so keep an eye out for those!

As of June 2014 I will be: Melissa Holden (BA) – a graduate of Creative and Professional Writing (BA Hons) from Canterbury Christ Church University.

4 thoughts on “1 Year On: Becoming An Author

Leave a Reply

