Social Life vs NaNoWriMo

It’s no secret that although my friends are supportive of my career, it’s not that fun for them when I talk about it all the time.

So imagine what it’s like now I’ve madly decided to take part in NaNoWriMo for the first time EVER! It’s safe to say that it’s only Day 2 and they’re already bored of hearing about it.

2014-Participant-Facebook-Profile

By the end of Day 1, I had already told three people the entire plot of my NaNo novel, thought about the cover, given away the twist. But had I actually hit my target? Nope.

I was trying so hard to balance a full-on social life, work and writing (and after a vague week off as well!) that my brain just went “hey: you know you’re supposed to sleep at least  4 hours? Yeah well I’ve decided to keep you awake by making you panic about how much you’re annoying your friends with your writing. K bye!”. It’s apparent that this is getting to me on both a subconscious and a day-to-day level.

Am I going to quit? Hell no! I’ve quit a lot of things in my life but this isn’t going to be one of them! I will finish NaNoWriMo even if it kills me!

It’s now Day 3, and I’m starting the day with the grand total of 2150 words written: I’m so behind! I could do with some encouragement.

If you’re a fellow NaNoWriMo’er, feel free to buddy me. 

Related Posts: NaNoWriMo 2014, 7 Reasons To Take Part In NaNoWriMo, Elizabeth Haynes

2 thoughts on “Social Life vs NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update | Melissa Holden

Leave a Reply

