Interview with an Author: Carol Cassada

It’s been a while since I posted an interview, but I thought you would all enjoy this one with series author, Carol Cassada.

carol cassada

What got you into writing?

I’ve always loved to read and I became interested in writing during my teen years when I took a creative writing class. One of the reasons I fell in love with writing is because it lets you express your feelings and use your imagination. I enjoyed writing so much that I decided to make a career out of it.

What’s your favourite book and why?

I really don’t have a favourite book; in fact my reading interests have changed throughout the years. I used to read books about the paranormal; everything from ghosts to UFOs to angels. Now, I’ll read just about anything from romance to crime to sci-fi. Any book that grabs my attention, I’ll give it a try.

What’s your writing routine?

My writing routine varies. A majority of my writing is done on the weekends when I have more time, but I also write a little on weekdays. Whenever I do get to write, I shut the door to my room so I can have privacy, then I pump on the tunes to get myself motivated.

Tea or Coffee?

I drink both, although with coffee I drink that more during the winter.

What’s your favourite genre to write?

So far the only genre I’ve written is romance and I thought it’d be hard, but actually it’s kind of easy. At the moment I’m focusing on romance, but down the line I’d like to experiment with other genres.

Westmore Betrayal

You have a new book coming out, how long did it take you to write?

My new book is Westmore: Betrayal, it’s the fifth volume in the Westmore series, which is a romance/soap opera book saga. There’s lots of interesting characters along with lots of romance and drama. In this volume, the characters have to deal with being betrayed by their loved ones. Among the story lines are:

The Braxtons learn the truth behind matriarch Alexis’ death and that one of their own is to blame for her death.
Jacob Reynolds is engaged to his girlfriend, Alicia, but he faces temptation when his ex-fiancée returns to town and pursues him.
Scott is on top of the world, his music career is thriving and he’s expecting a baby with his girlfriend, Melissa. But his world comes crashing down when his rival, Wayne Braxton starts interfering in his life.
Did you have any problems with the story?

There’s a lot of characters in the series, in fact it’s over 20. From an author and reader’s perspective, it can be hard to keep up with them. Another problem is making sure each character gets enough attention and has their storyline. I try to include all the characters in each volume, but there are times when other characters get more attention than another or I don’t include a character in one of the volumes due to story line reasons.

As a series author, do you find it hard to keep the plot moving, or does it just come to you?

Sometimes it can be hard to keep the plot moving. Prior to writing the series, I had all my ideas planned out for each volume. But as I started writing, I began to see that a certain story line wasn’t going to work, so I ended up cutting it or switching it to another volume.

Are your friends and family supportive of your writing career?

My friends and family have been very supportive. Out of everybody my mom’s the biggest supporter, she’s the first to buy and read my books when they come out. She’s also a big help when it comes to writing the stories, if I have an idea I run it by her and get her perspective.

How do you manage your time? Is it hard balancing your writing life with your working life?

I work from home and I have a flexible schedule, so I can work anytime I want. I tend to work during the week and write on the weekend, although sometimes I’ll sneak in some writing during the week if I’m not too busy.

Are you self-published or with an agent?

I’m self-published and even though it’d be nice to have an agent to help with everything; I prefer to do it on my own.

How do you keep motivated?

There are definitely hardships when it comes to writing and when things aren’t going well, I remind myself that writing is what I love to do. Even if I never become a big name success, I’m going to continue on with my books.

 

Interested in checking out Carol’s work?

www.carolcassada.blogspot.com

https://twitter.com/dramacjc

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Carol-Cassada/233360543344573

http://www.amazon.com/Carol-Cassada/e/B00520F3ZU/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1405624327&sr=1-2-ent

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

