My Heart’s Just Not In Fiction At The Moment

I’m planning a novel at the moment: Under The Lilies With You, and I love the idea and can’t wait to write it. But the truth is, my heart just isn’t in my Fiction work at the moment.

If you are a new follower, then you might not know that on July 1 I was due to publish a fiction novel, Searching For Katherine. It was edited and uploaded – all I had to do was click ‘Publish’, but after a long chat with a fellow writer (she’s also my lecturer) I realised that the book just wasn’t ready.

The problem is that since that day, I’ve not wanted to write any fiction.

I’m leaving Searching for Katherine alone for at least a year, and Under The Lilies With You is due to be written later this year, but I just can’t seem to get excited about it.

Whereas, my blogs, Readwave and non-fiction books are doing really well. So it’s making me wonder what writer I am supposed to be. Am I the journalist that everyone thinks I should be, or am I the fiction writer that I dreamed about being as a young girl?

All I know is, I am a good writer – I’ve got the pride and the proof of it, but my confidence has been knocked a little and now I’m left with a lot of loose threads and nothing to sew.

5 thoughts on “My Heart’s Just Not In Fiction At The Moment

  1. So… take a break from fiction πŸ™‚ Nothing wrong with that. After all, just because you don’t feel like it now doesn’t mean you’ll never feel like it again. Take notes, don’t put too much pressure on yourself, and have fun with your writing πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: A Trilogy Idea? | Melissa Holden

Leave a Reply

