Interview with an Author: Sara B Gauldin

 Meet Sarah B Gauldin: self-published author, mother, wife and teacher. 

What got you into writing?

I began writing when I was just a little girl.  I was always a daydreamer.  I was busy making up my own worlds and adding details to them by the time I was six or seven.  I took a few creative writing classes in high school and minored in English in college.  The written word has always seemed very natural to me.

What’s your favourite book and why?

That is the toughest question!  As a teacher I read tons of children books and I feel very sentimental about them.  I have worn the covers thin on a few books over the years, including Traveler, Clan of the Cave Bear, The Hobbit, all of the Twilight Books, and all of the Harry Potter books just to name a few.  If I really like a book I will re-read it a few times because I want to go back to that place and revisit those characters in my imagination.  I guess you could say I miss them.

What’s your writing routine?

I work full time as a teacher and have three sons.  Sometimes I write during my lunch break at work, but more often writing time is after the children go to bed in the evenings.

teach your child to read

Tea or Coffee?

Tea is swamp water, yuck!  Coffee is okay in the winter.  Mostly I’m a Coca-Cola or ice water person.

Are your friends and family supportive of your writing career?

Most of my friends think it is interesting that I write books but most are too busy to do much reading.  My oldest son who is 13 does read most of my books.  My husband will read them if he is interested in the subject matter, but he is not a huge fan of me devoting huge lengths of time to writing, so I try to be considerate of him and write when he is busy doing something he enjoys.

How do you manage your time? Is it hard balancing your writing life with your working life?

It can be incredibly hard!  When I am really in the moment with a given chapter the words seem to flow fairly quickly.  Other times I am lucky to add a few hundred words.  Either way, when I have a segment mapped out in my mind I have to record it right away or it seems to lose something when I recreate it.  I have been known to email myself segments of chapters using the email on my phone.

Are you self-published or with an agent?

I am a self-published author.  I taught myself to format the books and create covers.  I do invest in an editor for full length works.

Sarah Gauldin

How do you keep motivated?

I am an achievement oriented person.  My self-worth depends of making forward progress through life.  After two college degrees I realized I could not stay in school forever.  I have been teaching long enough that I have reached the pinnacle of what the career can offer me.  Writing lets me take steps forward in a manner that I enjoy.

You recently posted on your blog, http://sebgwrites.wordpress.com/, that you have been a published author for a year now. How does it feel?

One novel (The Corporeal Pull), one novella (To Conspire), and one non-fiction section (Teach Your Child to Read Using Simple and Effective Techniques) later and I feel like I have learned more volumes than I have written, but in reality the journey of becoming and remaining an author is still before me.  I try to remind myself that this endeavor is a marathon and not a sprint, but I need quite a bit of reminding!

the corporeal pull

A year on from the stress that is releasing a novel, is there any advice you would give to yourself, and my readers?

The most stressful part of publishing a book is the act of pushing the publish button.  Making my personal imaginative wanderings public, to be enjoyed or criticized, took me a little while to take in.  Otherwise, I cope with the day to day stress by compartmentalizing each portion of the process; composition, marketing, editing, formatting, blogging, review and many other jobs.  I try to take one segment or portion on at a time.  That way I do not lose sight of my actual goal, which of course is to produce high quality literature that fills a niche in a vast market of readers.

 

Thank you, Sara!

 

To check out some of Sara’s other work, click the links below!

sebgwrites@wordpress.com

amazon.com/author/saragauldin

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/SEBGwrites

Twitter: @SaraBGauldin

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/SEBGwrites?ref=hl

 

One thought on “Interview with an Author: Sara B Gauldin

  1. Reblogged this on sebgwrites and commented:
    A huge thanks to Melissa Holden for the opportunity to participate in her Interview with and Author blog series. If you haven’t visited yet, stop by and read about the fascinating people who make word-craft their passion!

Leave a Reply

