Interview with an Author: Clare Watkinson

Meet Clare Watkinson, three-time YA fiction author and an all-round nice girl! Here’s our interview. Clare Watkinson

What got you in to writing?

I can’t remember ever not writing.  I started off writing journals and poetry. Mainly from the time my sister passed away.It  was  the  only  way  I  found  I  could  express myself.

What  first  got  me  into  writing  novels  was  an  old  friend. We  both  found  one summer,  that  we  couldn’t  find  anything we  wanted  to  read.

So  she  joked  I  should write  a  book  about  the  only  thing  we  wanted  to  read  about. Guy’s in bands.  And  so over  that  summer  Zero  on  the  rock-o-meter  was  born.

zero

What’s your favourite book and why?

I don’t really have a favourite book.  There are a few I do reread.

If  I  had  to  pick  one it  would  probably  be,  Angus  thongs  and  full  frontal  snogging  by  Louise  Rennison.

Simply because  I  wanted  to  write  books  that  made  me  feel  that  happy  to  be  reading.

 What’s your writing routine? 

I write everything in a notebook first.  I’m all about pen and paper.  I can sit and loose myself for hours.

I  find  when  typing  I  have  to  really  motivate  myself  to  sit  and  type.

But  I  can  write  and  anytime  and  do  it  for  hours  on end.  And sometimes I just can’t sit still.

stereo

Tea or coffee?

I don’t drink either.

As  a  young  author,  do  you  find  there  is  prejudiced against  you? 

I  haven’t  really  felt  any  negativity  because  of  my  age.  It’s never really been an issue.

You write YA.  Is  this  an  active  choice?

Writing Young Adult just happened.  It wasn’t a choice.

I  do  read  a  lot  of  it,  so  it  was no  doubt  an  influence.

I  find  I  can  relate  to  it  more  than  any  other  genres.

Are your friends and family supportive of your writing career?

Yes they are really supportive.

I  have  a  couple  of  good  friends  who  always  push  me  to finish,  when I  have  my  moment  of  not  wanting  to  type.

And  one’s  that  I  can  bounce ideas  off  of.  My  parents  have  always  been  very  supportive  of  it.

Though  it  does  seem to  have  passed  my  brother  by.

Is it hard balancing your writing life with your working life?

No I don’t find it hard.  Writing has always come first.  I have a good support system at home.

Are you self-published or with an agent?

I’m self-published.

Dirty denim

How do you keep motivated?

Most  of  the  time  it  just  comes  out,  and  I  don’t  need  to  motivate  myself.

When  writing  with  pen  and  paper  I  can  write  for  hours.

But  I  do  need  to  be in  the  right  mood  when  typing.  But  My  friend  is  good  for  giving  me  a  push.

She  does  nag  me  a  fair  bit  to  finish  them,  so  she  can  read  it.

 I  always  have head  phones  on  and  listen  to  music  when  writing.

Thanks Clare!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZeroRockO

Amazon links:

Broken In Stereo (2) by Clare Watkinson

Link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1497452449

Dirty Denim by Clare Watkinson

Link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/149610109X

Zero on the Rock-O-Meter by Clare WatkinsonLink: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1496043448

Leave a Reply

