Interview with an Author: Marjorie Haddox

Meet Marjorie Haddox, who has just published her first novel, “Sarah”.

Marjorie Haddox

What got you into writing?

I love reading. I have commented so many times that every person has a book in them. I finally decided to try after I had a dream that gave me a starting point.

What’s your favourite book and why?

I love reading “The Unseen” series (4 books), by Richie T. Cusick. It kept me guessing throughout the series. That in its self is unusual. Most of the time I have a book or movie figured out pretty quick.

What’s your writing routine?

I really don’t have a writing routine. I travel a lot with my job and for pleasure. I don’t have time sent aside for writing. I write when I get ideas I don’t want to forget or motivated. Presently I have started two other books.

Tea, or Coffee?

Coffee smells so good, but I don’t like the taste.  I like hot or cold tea. Diet coke is my favourite drink.

Are your friends and family supportive of your writing career?

Yes, but we don’t sit and talk about it. We did more while I was writing “Sarah”.

How do you manage your time? Is it hard balancing your writing life with your working life?

When I wrote “Sarah” I was in the same room my husband, Jeff, was in while he watched TV. I can multitask pretty well. I just have to be motivated.

Are you self-published or with an agent?

I paid Xlibris to edit, do art work, web page, publish, etc.

How do you keep motivated?

At the moment I’m not very motivated. It is not well advertised and therefore not noticed. I put a lot of time and care into writing “Sarah”. I really enjoyed writing the book. It gave me a good feeling of accomplishment

Margie, you have just published your debut novel, “Sarah”. How are you finding the industry so far?

Very hard to break into. I feel like you have to have a real publisher that represents your best interest as well as their interest in sales. It also helps if you have a name that the public knows.

Sarah

Is there any advice you would give to debuting authors like yourself, now you have been through the process?

Try your best to get a publisher or have the time to really go out and advertise your book. Don’t let poor sales break your spirit. If you are going to be a writer do it because you enjoy writing. No other reason.

That is some great advice, thanks Marjorie!

To check out Marjorie’s social media, click the links below:

MarjorieHaddox.com

Twitter @margieipad

To check out “Sarah”, click here! 

If you would like to check out other “Interview with an Author” pages, please click here! 

Leave a Reply

