Interview with an Author – William O’Brien

Today, I bring you author of the Amazon#6 UK YA Fiction series, Peter – William O’Brien: who has an impressive 18.7K Twitter followers!

 William O'Brien      

Bio:

Living in a small village in Lancashire, England, the author has written a number of books based on the tale ‘Peter’.
In the 1990s, the author had twenty-one articles published, both nationally and internationally. After gaining an honours degree in Geosciences, doing post-graduate study in Occupational Health and Fitness, and earning a masters degree in Science Communication, he developed an interest for simple communication.
A passion for writing again emerged, and combining various interests in fine art, museum exhibition display, biology, geology, poetry, and the mystical led to the story of Peter: A Darkened Fairytale. The author still retains a childlike vision of the world, which is conveyed throughout his books.

What got you into writing?

I always wanted to write a book – it happened automatically. I used to write articles on exercise/physiology/nutrition. It was simply a decision of fact or fiction.

What’s your favourite book and why?

Very difficult to pick one and it would depend upon my mood. I am a fan of “Alice in Wonderland” – I enjoy surrealism. A couple of others spring to mind, “The Picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar Wilde and “A Moveable Feast” by Ernest Hemingway for their descriptive nature.

What’s your writing routine?

I hate routine – I used to be very rigid when structuring things but I don’t find that method works for me with any task that requires inspiration.

Tea, or Coffee?

Black coffee. I do go through phases of drinking herbal teas.

You write Children/YA Fantasy: what got you into this genre, and why do you love writing it?

Well, I guess I have always been child at heart and drawn into the mystical worlds of the metaphysical which led to the Peter series.

The books can be read individually or chronologically. Peter – The World is currently $0.99 (UK 77p)PETER_ THE WORLD sm

Peter – The World (Peter: A Darkened Fairytale): Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts – Vol 1 myBook.to/Peter_World

The next Peter instalment is due out later this year is more focussed toward a YA audience. People have suggested I should write Horror as the end of the first book gets fairly dark and is certainly is a possibility in the future. Also, I have started writing a book based around the late Victorian period of England – I will be expanding into other areas/genres over the next couple of years.

As a series author, do you find it hard to keep the story fresh?

Sometimes sticking points occur but I tend to be bombarded with ideas. The hardest part is filtering through the thoughts and choosing the best ones to include in the books.

What tips can you give aspiring authors about writing a series?

Climb inside your characters and never let them go! Keep hold of all your notes and scraps of paper – years later, you may find them useful.

How do you manage your time? Is it hard balancing your writing life with your working life?

Most work I do has to be reasonably flexible. Only 24 hours in the day and it is up to you how you use them – it is hard sometimes but you have to do what is most important to you. I always carry notepaper and I am constantly writing things down.

Are you self-published or with an agent?

My earlier articles were published directly through publications and I found I hit problems when I wanted to publish my work elsewhere – lesson learnt. The books are self-published and I have never approached a traditional publisher or an agent. I like to write about what I want and the way I want – also, I have control over my work. It can be complex and you have to make a choice of what is most beneficial to you. You will find many opinions and there isn’t one single way to do things right – research, experiment, trail and error.

How do you keep motivated?

Currently, writing is just something I have to do and motivation is sitting well. If I am feeling unmotivated, writing a handful of sentences can help get the ball rolling. It is useful to leave your manuscript on a good note rather than a sticking point – it will make you want to return to it.

Thank you Melissa for an interesting interview.

 

If you would like to check out more of what William has to say, check out his social media pages:

http://www.peteradarkenedfairytale.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/authorwilliamobrien

https://twitter.com/peterfairytale

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4619644.William_O_Brien

Author.to/WilliamOBrien_amz

 

Links to William’s Peter series are below:

Cover1 JPEG FROM PDF

Peter: A Darkened Fairytale

 myBook.to/peter_fairytale

ENCH sm

Peter, Enchantment and Stardust – The Poems (Peter: A Darkened Fairytale)

myBook.to/peter_enchantment

PETER_ THE WORLD sm

Peter – The World (Peter: A Darkened Fairytale): Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts – Vol 1

myBook.to/Peter_World

SURREAL PETER sm

Surreal Peter (Peter: A Darkened Fairytale): Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts – Vol 2

myBook.to/Surreal_Peter

Flying dragon.

Peter – Crank’s Time (Peter: A Darkened Faiytale): Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts – Vol 3

myBook.to/Peter_CranksTime

BOXSET_1_Amazon_image_opt

Peter – Box Set #1 – Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts (Peter: A Darkened Fairytale): Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts – Vol 1-3

myBook.to/peter_boxset_1

 

I look forward to hearing more from William as his career continues, good luck William and thanks for a great interview!

 

Did you miss the last installment of “Interview with an Author”? Well don’t worry – you can read them all right here!

5 thoughts on “Interview with an Author – William O’Brien

  1. Pingback: Interview with an Author – William O’Brien by Melissa Holden | William O'Brien

Leave a Reply

