Interview With An Author – Emma Jones

Meet Emma Jones: Mum, Author and Blogger – here’s her story:

 Emma Stone  

What got you into writing?

I’ve always loved books and reading.  When I was on maternity leave with my daughter (who’s now 7) I began writing. It was a hobby but, “The Awakening” kept nagging at me and became my debut novel.

What’s your favourite book and why?

I haven’t got a favourite as it depends on my mood.  I loved S J Watson “Before I Go to Sleep”. The story hooked me immediately and I couldn’t wait to finish it.  I have read a lot of Marian Keyes – “Last Chance Saloon” is my favourite and Emily Barr.

What’s your writing routine?

I don’t have a routine as I have a day job and two children.  I usually write at night when the children have gone to bed 2-3 times a week but it is sometimes less.

Tea, or Coffee?

Tea!

Do you have a particular genre you stick to?

I read physiological thrillers and chick-lit, but I am open to all genres.

What inspired your book, The Awakening?

I have always loved vampires.  I loved the films “Interview with a Vampire”, “Lost Boys” and “Blade” long before Twilight came along.  I also loved Point Horror books as a teenager so it seemed natural that my first full-length book would be vampire based.

I see you have a Blogspot blog, how often do you blog and how do you decide what to write about?

Not that often – maybe twice a month.  I use it mostly to chronicle my self-publishing journey.  I find blogging a little difficult as you are conversing with strangers and I’m unsure if many people are interested in my ramblings.  I hope it may help any aspiring authors or people interested in the self-publication route.

Are your friends and family supportive of your writing career?

Yes although I did most of “The Awakening” in secret.  My sister was brilliant and read two of my draft copies and gave me encouragement.

How do you manage your time?

I have to manage my time well as children need to be at school and nursery at set times and then I go to work. I’m quite good at time management and hate being late for anything.  My calendar in the kitchen has all key dates on.  I couldn’t live without it.

Are you self-published or with an agent?

I am self-published. It is hard as being self-published you do not have an agent or editor pushing you or making helpful suggestions.  I’ve found the process a little slow and I find marketing hard.  I’m not very good at blowing my own trumpet.  I do love writing though and my daughter thinks it amazing I have a book on Kindle.  I hope people are enjoying “The Awakening” and “Origins”.  Please feel free to drop me a line on Twitter, Facebook or leave a review.

AwakeningOrigins

Synopsis of “The Awakening”:

Do you believe in vampires? Ghosts? The supernatural world?

Meet Lauren who instantly clicks with Gavin at a friend’s BBQ. Everything goes well until Lauren starts to experience strange things and hears a weird voice. It seems like a warning but from what? Lauren eventually makes the startling discovery that Gavin is a vampire and it has profound consequences for herself. The arrival of Daniel makes things even more confusing for Lauren as she is warned he is bad news from a ghostly source. Laurens life is turned upside down as things she thought were myths and legends become real and she struggles to cope with everything she has discovered.

Will Lauren and Gavin’s relationship survive and what about the mysterious Daniel?

Purchasing Links

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00H5UM4QQ

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H5UM4QQ

 

If you would like to hear more from Emma, check out the links below:

https://twitter.com/booksemmajones

http://booksbyemmajones.blogspot.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Books-by-Emma-Jones/611953792173504

 

 

Leave a Reply

