Interview with an Author: Eve A. Floriste

I’ve been looking forward to doing this interview, as Floriste is an author who I have been following closely (via Twitter of course!) for the past few months. I’ve got to know her as not only a fellow author, but as a person. So, here is today’s Interview with an Author, with the lovely: Eve A. Floriste

Eve A. Floriste

What got you into writing? 

I didn’t actually want to be a writer. My brother was the writer of the family. I got a lot of writing training and won some awards in school, but I wanted to be an actor. ‘Till I figured out what a colossal butt-kissing nuisance it was. Phew. Not the industry for me. I’ve been a voracious reader all my life, though (starting with comic books, of course, when my brother would let me get my grubby paws on them.) He sometimes made me wear plastic bags on my hands – loved reading them anyway. All the stories, the visuals – sometimes I’d carry the stories on in my own mind. Especially when the next issue was missing.

What’s your favourite book?

Watership Down by Richard Adams: The harrowing tale of refugee bunnies. If you haven’t read it, it sounds quite silly. It’s not. It’s an amazing allegory, and by taking it out of the human world the author has circumvented the protective numbness and apathy that we sometimes get with traumatizing stories.

What’s your writing routine?

Oh boy. Currently it involves snatching 5 – 15 minute segments to do marketing updates or organize myself. I have to work extremely hard to get a solid hour of uninterrupted time out of my day. So I do most of my writing in my head – rather uncontrollably, actually. Especially in those dark, quiet times while falling asleep or waking up. Then when I can get my hour-per-day I can just spill whatever’s been stored up.

Do you have a particular genre you stick to, or do you write about anything?

My goal is to write what I like to read: Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Mystery. Those are my favorite genres and my first loves. It’s almost random chance that the first book I’ve completed in is a completely different genre. I did it as a kind of experiment, to see how I felt about the challenge of writing something full-length and publishable.

What inspired your book: Fresh Cut: One Florist’s Story?

Well, my life, really. I had to fictionalize a lot of details but it’s largely true. I’ve been advised not to confess how much is and is not true, but suffice it to say, it’s my story. I never would have fancied myself a memoir writer, but I had the mixed blessing to have quite a fouled-up life in my younger years. I certainly had some demons to exorcise, but I’m not vain enough to think that my sob story alone would necessarily be appealing. It was the contrast of discovering the bizarre inner workings of the floral industry that made it a story worth telling. People were begging me for more weird florist stories, and they started telling me I should write them down… so this crazy idea began percolating to put it all together in one book.

Are your friends and family supportive of your writing career?

It’s a mixed bag. My brother was actually the chief editor on my book; I took full advantage of his Ivy League Writing Major education. And he’s a very, very brave man to survive reading the innermost filthy secrets of his kid sister’s life. My Mom’s a bit baffled, my husband’s quite proud, many of my beta reader friends have been incredibly cool – and then there’s a whole circle of friends where this sort of dialogue happens: “Wow you wrote a book, that’s so cool!” “Yes, will you pick it up on Amazon and give it a review?” (Sound of wind whistling and crickets chirping…)

Do you have a full-time job, if so – what is it, and how do you manage your time?

I’m the parent of a two-year-old, so yeah, that’s pretty much a round-the-clock full time job. On top of that I work part-time from home in my brother’s video game business; I run all the business operations and administration. It’s very demanding on my brain, but not very many hours of my time, so I’m lucky with that. How do I manage my time? Very, very carefully. And with ruthless efficiency. And yes, I just quoted Monty Python.

Are you self-published or with an agent? Was this a personal choice?

Fresh Cut is currently self-published. I shopped it to a tiny number of agents many years ago when it was first completed and hated absolutely everything about that process. If it gets a bit of a following going I may approach some agent contacts again. I like the ease of self-publishing but I am a crappy marketer. I don’t have the patience or the mind-set for it.

Did you find it difficult trying to get into the industry?

Oh my, yes. Twitter is the best thing that’s happened to me in that respect. There are a ton of authors and industry people on there and I’ve found it to be a very friendly, respectful environment. Through various internet and personal contacts I’ve gradually increased my industry familiarity to something marginally less than pathetic.

How do you keep motivated?

Alcohol. And coffee. Only partly joking, there. OK, really, truly – my motivation is my adorable child. He’s the thing that makes it incredibly difficult to write, but he’s also the one thing that makes me really want to write. I can’t even exactly explain why, but there’s a blog post brewing in my fevered brain about this very subject. I didn’t find the inspiration to dust off my book and publish it until he was born. There’s something about having this dependent, hopeful little creature in my life that makes me want to succeed and be a better person. A better writer, better parent, better everything. That’s not too tall an order, right?

 

Want to check out some of Eve A. Floriste’s work?

Her book, Fresh Cut: One Florist’s Story is out now on Amazon Kindle:

http://www.amazon.com/Fresh-Cut-One-Florists-Story-ebook/dp/B00HAQVBR8

 I personally, can’t wait to get my virtual hands on a copy! I will be reviewing Fresh Cut: One Florist’s Story within the next month or so! 

 

Have you missed the previous Interview with an Author posts? Well don’t worry because you can click here to read them! 

3 thoughts on “Interview with an Author: Eve A. Floriste

Leave a Reply

