Interview with an Author: Randy Henderson

Today’s interview is with Christian Fiction writer, and author of Expect the Unexpected, Randy Henderson:

Expect the Unexpected: Randy Henderson

Expect the Unexpected: Randy Henderson

What got you into writing? 

Stephen King’s books inspired me to write. After I saw his movie “IT”, I became a fan and started reading his books, which made me want to write.

What’s your favourite book? 

The Bible most definitely, but my other favorites are Stephen King: Christine, and Nicholas Sparks: The Notebook.

source: lostamerica.com

source: lostamerica.com

What’s your writing routine? 

I’ll write all my books and stories long-hand while drinking massive amounts of coffee, and then type them up afterwards.

What’s your favourite genre to write, or even to read? 

That would have to be Christian Fiction. I didn’t know about the genre until I read Eric Wilson’s novelization to Fireproof, and then I was hooked and knew that’s the genre I need to be writing.

You make videos, can you tell us a little about it? 

I started Dark 8 Productions as a way to make inspirational videos for people who have gone through dark times, to show them that there IS a light on the other side. Sure, I’ll admit that I haven’t done so yet, because there is a zombie show that I did for fun. But that’s the kind of videos I want to do. And I also want do a show for writers to be able to promote their books.

What inspires your work?

My mind, it’s always running and constantly going about something. There just isn’t any telling what would come out of it. 

Are your friends and family supportive of your writing career? 

Oh yes definitely, my wife keeps me going and motivated. And to see how happy my parents were when my first book came out really made it all worthwhile.

How do you manage your time? 

A whole lot of coffee, coffee is my best friend.

Are you self-published or with an agent? Was this a personal choice? 

I’m self-published, at first this wasn’t a personal choice, but it wasn’t just the rejections that I decided to go this route, it was how even Christian publishers and agents judged my work and strange mind that I just let God show me the way He wanted me to go.

Did you find it difficult trying to get into the industry? 

It is difficult when trying to get in the traditional way with agents, query letters, editors and just a lot of work that really don’t give you the control as what the self-publishing way could.

How do you keep motivated? 

My wife’s love for my work, prayer, and my best friend, coffee.

Contact:

Twitter @dark8prods

Facebook.com/hendersonauthor

Randy’s book, Expect the Unexpected is available on Amazon, Kindle, and at Createspace.com

One thought on “Interview with an Author: Randy Henderson

Leave a Reply

