So, it’s New Year’s Eve…

I didn’t even realise it was New Year’s Eve today, until a cashier said so.

“Have a lovely new year miss, any plans?”

“For what?”

“Tonight, it is New Year’s after all!”

“Really?”

I had completely forgotten, and considering the fact that I’m going to a New Year’s party tonight, that’s pretty shameful.

It’s not that I had forgotten it was 31st December, I know the date, but with me being on my own in the house, and most of my friends don’t get back to Canterbury until today – I’d just forgotten to get excited. Not that I’m even that excited for 2014, more daunted by it.

2014 will bring pressure: for the sequel to my book, for my grades to go up (I’m aiming for a 1st this year, not that it will happen), with my family. I know it will eventually contain a funeral, unless the imaginary gods are on my side.

On the plus side, I will have a new niece or nephew to dote on, although I’ll probably never see him/her.

Anyway, I’m just feeling a bit, well, exhausted. I’ve been working a lot more than I usually do, and with Christmas, assignments and the general chaos of my writing life, 2013 has been a bit much.

Maybe 2014 will bring me the peace of mind I’ve been searching for…

One thought on “So, it’s New Year’s Eve…

Leave a Reply

